Digestion Luekocytosis

Digestive leukocytosis,an increase in the number of white blood cells after eating foods heated to a certain temperature, whereas raw, unheated foods do not have this effect.

Wasn’t sure where to start, so I’m starting at the bottom, the root of all the information leading up to my health. Why do we eat raw?  Well, I think it’s just damn tastier, others might have been advised to by a doctor, and then there is most of us, who don’t even realize that we do. Sure, It’s important to eat raw, but how good is the raw foods in our super market? Most of our fruits and vegetables take days, maybe weeks to get here and most organics in super markets aren’t really organic (organic discussions will be coming soon). Back to why raw?  Digestion Luekocytosis.  Serious stuff, a chemical reaction when cooked foods hit our systems. An increase in white blood cells, which can lead to free radical formation and disease. I’m not saying don’t eat cooked food. A lot of foods need to be cooked in order for certain enzymes to come out. I’m just saying, know what the hell is going on every time you eat. Be mindful of how much nutrients you are actually getting from an organic apple shipped from washington. Instead of ever having to wonder, just eat local, and if you can afford it, eat local organics.  same goes with milk, eggs, meat, and even beer. Your body benefits more when you and your food are breathing the same air. I know, I am putting this all in my own words so I am sorry if you don’t follow. My english is horrible, so what?  I have a lot to say and a lot to misspell, so hang on to your dictionaries cause I don’t wanna hear it!

Read more about Digestion Luekocytosis in the Kouchakoff Articles.  Here’s a little bit more intriguing info.

Leukocytosis was avoided if at least 10% raw foods were also eaten. That is, Kouchakoff found (if his results are to be believed) that when a cooked food is ingested, leukocytosis can be avoided simply by adding about 10% of the same raw food [Kouchakoff 1937, p. 336], or a raw food whose “critical temperature” is higher [Kouchakoff 1937, pp. 332-334]. (Note: “critical temperature” here refers to the specific temperature for a specific food above which leukocytosis occurs.) Therefore, by these results, it is by no means necessary to eat 100% raw or even predominantly raw to avoid leukocytosis; even totally cooked meals would be fine provided cooking temperatures are low enough.

I really like Kouchakoff, he’s kind of a badass in my world. I think we should eat more than 10% raw, but he makes a lot of great points for the average american diet. Once you make that step to 10% raw, you really start to feel better. Before you know it your eating habits will all straighten out .

Leave a comment